Is SEO Worth the Money?
SEO – 3 simple letters that actually prove to be a bit more complicated than they appear, as you may have recently found out. In the world of marketing, which you probably are still trying to wrap your head around (or understand its value), SEO is an important aspect. But what does SEO entail? Is it a bunch of “hocus pocus?” If you pay someone to do it for you, is SEO worth the money?
Provided you’ve probably found a lot of content around this question (and the fact we also wrote content around this question), you may know your answer by now.
But if not, let us help you on your SEO journey.
Can You Find Your Website On The Internet?
To help you understand if SEO is worth the money and just how vital a good SEO strategy is to your business, we’ll do a little exercise:
Try a quick Google search of your company and the most popular products and services you offer.
If you can’t find it or are having trouble finding it, you may need some help with SEO.
How do you expect potential customers to find you if you can’t? Studies show that 92% of searchers do not make it past the first page of the search results, and 30% of them click on the first website.
Not showing up on the Google search page means that you are giving your business away to other competing websites, who will gladly jump in Google’s line of those willing to answer users’ questions.
SEO content creation can help get you back in the game. You most likely need a convincing case to present to your boss when advocating for SEO. Perhaps some case studies can help demonstrate the value of paying for SEO.
If you do end up finding your company, products, and/or services through search results, GREAT! But don’t stop there – there are probably some improvements you can focus on, to rank even better, or for more keywords.
Remember – it’s a marathon, not a sprint.
How Much Is SEO Worth To Your Company?
Well, we shall show you exactly why SEO is worth the money and even more! Let’s use some hard numbers:
The best way to know what SEO is worth to your business is to determine how much each customer is worth to you. Are you an online shop selling $10 t-shirts or a manufacturing company selling equipment worth millions? The value of e-commerce SEO is dependent on the average order value per customer.
Businesses offering subscription-based products or services should calculate the value based on the lifetime value of a customer rather than average order values.
Such businesses usually have customers that keep coming back for more after their initial purchase.
Calculating The Value Of SEO
Have a look at this example to understand whether SEO is worth it.
Let’s say you make an average of $100 per day and generate about 1,000 visitors daily to your online store.
Let’s assume that your store has a conversion rate of 2%. This refers to the number of visitors who end up buying your product or service.
Based on this, your initial amount is $60,000 in monthly revenue without SEO services.
Here’s the math…
1,000 visitors per day * 30 days * 2/100 conversion rate * $100 = $60,000 per month
If basic SEO strategies move your website from page five to page one, then you can expect a huge increase in traffic. Let’s say your traffic increases by 50%
1,500 visitors/day * 30 days * .02 conversion rate * $100 = $90,000 per month
You’ve raised your monthly revenue by $30,000 and $360,000 annually!
To calculate the value of SEO on your own, substitute your values in the formula above.
You’ll need your average number of visitors per day, the average order value, and your website conversion rate. You should be able to quickly determine what even a small increase in traffic due to SEO can do for your revenue.
Should Successful Businesses Stop Doing SEO?
Absolutely not.
Say you just started focusing on your SEO efforts and nothing has happened. Don’t be discouraged! SEO takes time. We don’t mean to sound cliche, but “It’s a marathon, not a sprint.”
You may be tempted to abandon your SEO efforts once they prove fruitful, but this is never wise. New internet users are coming up daily, which means it’s hard to accurately say that you have reached everyone you ever wished to reach. You should never stop optimizing your business, no matter how profitable it becomes.
Even highly profitable companies still focus on SEO. SEO is constantly evolving, so you must keep up with the trends. In fact, currently, the trend is to optimize SEO with social media, which means that you still have a long way to go!
Search engines consider a few things like relevance, content, so you must always maintain that to avoid losing relevance and dropping from a high ranking.
SEO vs. Outbound Marketing
Outbound marketing is all about emailing, cold calls, TV and radio ads, and many other things, including billboards. These can get pretty expensive and the worst part is they lack personalization, which is why they have proven not as effective.
SEO is much less expensive to set up, monitor, and maintain than traditional marketing. Additionally, traditional marketing does not guarantee a spontaneous increase in sales. It is not selective and may not reach your target audience.
SEO directs people already in your marketing funnel looking for a place to spend their money on your website. This is why SEO has a higher close rate than traditional marketing. For SEO, the close rate is 14.6%, while that of traditional marketing is only 1.7%.
So, Is SEO Worth It?
You bet your company it is! SEO is worthwhile for all businesses. Regardless of how big or small of a company you are, this is not something you should ignore.
But, you must have the right SEO strategies in place and work with the right partner who can get results. 93% of online experiences begin with search engines, and the close rate for SEO is higher than that of traditional marketing. SEO has a much more impressive return on investment.
A good SEO agency should be able to do the following for you:
- Design, build and maintain your website
- Create keyword-focused content
- Come up with lead-generation strategies
- Use Google ads for optimization
- Use Google Analytics and other tools for measuring and adjusting
Is An SEO Agency Worth It?
Chances are, if you’re reading this blog, you’re probably still in the early stages of learning SEO. So, if you really want to start making a splash with your online presence, an SEO agency is definitely worth it.
A good SEO agency has the right tools to manage your website. There’s so much to SEO than what most people know – so many moving parts, dos and don’ts, algorithm updates, etc. When it comes to ensuring that your website is ranking well, it goes beyond content creation and web design/development.
The Brandsmen: The Best Denver SEO Company
If you are looking for the best Denver SEO company, well, you found us (probably through search engines, ironically).
At The Brandsmen, we are SEO experts and have been recognized among the best SEO agencies in Denver.
We are a local SEO agency in Denver that creates results-oriented SEO strategies for our clients. We craft content that ranks high on search engines and ensures that your company is visible to all potential clients. We also have the best reviews.
And, if you’re still wondering if SEO is worth the money, contact us today to get a free quote!